I’ve Discovered The Meaning Of Life

I have discovered the meaning of life. And no, it is not 42. It is not chocolate (Shocker, right?). It is Buttermilk.

That’s right, Buttermilk.

Butter to the Milk.

Om nom nom.

Let me back up and explain how I discovered this wickedly awesome fact.

Earlier this week I was craving chicken strips like they have at Popeyes and restaurants. I love super crispy chicken strips and I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to make them. I have tried everything.

I’ve double and triple battered them, I’ve used tons of egg, I’ve used no egg. I’ve baked, I’ve fried, I have tried everything. I was feeling hopeless about this entire endeavor and I decided that I would look at the Pioneer Woman’s website, with high hopes she would have a good chicken strip recipe.

She did. And it never occurred to me to use buttermilk.

I’m horrifically Midwestern, almost to a fault (We Midwesterners are perfect, I swear), and I hadn’t really discovered buttermilk until I came to the south, where it’s only sold in half gallon containers. And while Milk is rarely sold in gallons. Which confuses the hell out of me.

I had some buttermilk in the fridge that was about to go bad so I decided to take from her recipe. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk and hot sauce, and made a breading of just flour, tony’s seasoning, and a little bit of buttermilk. The batter ended up being really clumpy, which is supposed to happen. I threw the chicken in the batter and threw those bitches in the fryer.

Mother fucking chicken strips.

Mother fucking chicken strips.

 

Way better than a restaurants. Alex and I ate over five pounds of those bad boys.

Thank you Pioneer Woman. Thank you for being the Goddess of Cooking.

So, tell me internet.  What do you think is the meaning of life?

 

Like what you read?  Follow me on facebook!  I’ll be posting strange news stories and updates!

Questions, comments or concerns?  I have an email now!  Transplantedtothesouth@gmail.com is my official email for this blog.  Feel free to email me anytime about anything in regards to my blog!

16 thoughts on “I’ve Discovered The Meaning Of Life

  1. Well now, Cimmy will be glad to hear this. I wonder how it’d work for fish fillets and if it would work for baked or pan-fried meat, which we often choose over deep frying.

    Please tell me, though, that you used traditional buttermilk, and not cultured buttermilk. I can’t stand cultured buttermilk.

    • I used bulgarian style cultured buttermilk (I had to check!) I had no idea there was a difference. I just know that the bulgarian style is much thicker, almost a paste. And everything I cook with that is so much richer and delicious 🙂

      I didn’t really deep fry the strips, I fried it in about a half inch of oil and flipped it. So it was kind of deep fried? I bet it would be good for country fried steaks 🙂

      • Oh stop, now I’m getting really hungry.

        I don’t know if I mentioned this, but my area (in the shadow of Hanford) has brought a lot of Southerners in, especially Texans. One online friend asked me if I wasn’t really Southern, especially because of certain mannerisms of mine and a hearty appetite for down-home Southern food. Chicken fried steaks, fried chicken, country-style gravy, buttermilk biscuits, okra, jambalaya, crayfish and more… still have two jars of Kool-Aid pickles (Koolickles) waiting in the fridge since I finally had to try that. And that’s not counting all the down-home Mexican food I love…

Leave a Reply

