New Years Resolutions

So each year, we all have resolutions, but I am going to try to keep it realistic this year.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far.

 

Cut down on my drinking so I can work in Alcohol Rehabilitation

Lose at least 40 pounds and keep it off this year.  I lost over thirty this year and gained about 20 back, so time to be good again.

Finish my Bachelor’s degree on time

Get a job with the state

Get my husband to start taking classes again (Sorry alex)

Start Saving for a house so I can stand naked in the yard

Keep my house clean for an entire week

Visit Minnesota at least twice this year

Call friends from home more often

Pay off something

Get 100 followers on this blog

Start saving up for a vacation for celebrating getting my bachelor’s degree.  I’m trying to decide between the Caribbean or dragging my best friend to New Zealand.

 

I feel that these are fairly realistic, but just you wait, I’ll get a few of them and be like YEAH then totally screw up.

 

Because I’m awesome like that.

So tell me, internet, what are some of your goals this year?  What do you want to accomplish this year?

I want to know!  I honestly do!  Next blog post I’ll post the top responses and link to them 🙂

 

Like what you read?  Follow me on facebook! I’ll be posting odd news stories and blog updates 🙂

11 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions

  1. My issues with your Resolutions.
    1) No tapering of goals. You have made hard line goals that don’t have end dates with no back-ups. This is the first step to not achieving anything.

    2)You made a goal for someone else. You’re not going to take his classes for him, let him make his own goals.

    3)You have goals with-in goals, get a BS, because I got my BS, go on vacation, but first Choose a destination. You have not completed your goal, why are you already planning a vacation from your goal you have not completed?

    You also need to make hard goals. Start saving for a house. You found a penny in the couch and put it back. It will still be there next year, saved, done. Maybe a range “Save 10 – 15k for a down payment on a house.”

    I like resolutions, but maybe a theme would be nice. Financial, educational or health. Not And. It’s good to have many things you want to accomplish, but try one thing at a time. Correct one behavior before you move on to the next one. Success breads success.

  2. I’m still working on goals I made like 5-7 years ago. I’m so not kidding– I mean like recovering from my back problems. First it was work as hard as I could to avoid back surgery. Then it was preparing for that surgery. Then it was recovering from that surgery. Then it was still trying to beat the pain. Then it was preparing for another procedure that didn’t happen… shall I go on?

    • Nah, I get the idea 😉

      I think resolutions are just a way for people to hold themselves accountable, and they’re very hit or miss on whether or not you achieve them.

      I try not to make resolutions on medical issues just simply because that’s so far out of your control. I have back problems too, but definitely not to the extent you do. I salute you!

  3. Did you really take offense to another persons goals? That’s like going to a restaurant and getting pissed at the guy at the next table over for ordering an appetizer after a main course.

    Let me take offense to her trying to change me.

  4. I think you have great goals for the year– in all areas of life and ranging from big stuff like finishing your degree to remembering to call friends. It shows an understanding of what you want from life and how you want to get there.

    I think I should play it safe and just go with the “keep house clean for an entire week.” I can’t seem to manage that AT ALL… there’s always one neglected area…

  5. I’ve just nominated you for The Sunshine Blog Award!!
    If there’s anyone deserving of it, it’s you.

    The Sunshine Award Rules:
    Post a picture of the Sunshine Award
    Post 11 random facts about yourself
    Answer the 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you
    Nominate 11 bloggers.
    Write 11 questions for them to answer
    Let the nominated blogger(s) know you have nominated them

  6. Hey! I don’t know you and randomly found this blog, but I actually feel inspired when I see heavy people at the gym! I’m like hey, homegirl has BALLS…or, er, rather…OVES. She don’t care what meatheads think. So from some random on the ‘net, I salute ya. 🙂

    Let’s see, my goals are to get strong and improve my balance and get rid of the belly “pooch”. ABS, I WANTS THEM.

    • Hahaha, I just saw this! I’m sorry it took me so long to respond.

      I wish more people were like you when going to the gym. I hate when people stare and are like OH MY GOD IF SHE FALLS IT’LL BE HILARIOUS! And while it would be hilarious (i’m not dead, come on), I always find people are more judgemental than anything else.

      AND ABS ARE OVERRATED! YOU CAN’T JIGGLE ABS!

Leave a Reply

