Merry Christmas! (From the Velociraptors)

So Alex and I decided to get Christmas portraits done since we haven’t had pictures done since last year, and we forgot to get prints of them (but they’re on facebook!) and before that we had pictures done at our wedding.  So the entire three years together, we’ve had pictures done twice.  We felt that since we couldn’t really afford to get gifts for many of our friends and family this year, that we would get pictures done (it was only $20 for 64 prints, you can’t beat that), so we dressed up nice, I straightened my hair and did my make up, and off we went to get pictures done!

While sitting in the waiting room to do the pictures, we were looking at all of the example portraits on the walls, and Alex and I decided to do our normal thing of completely weirding out.

Alex: Dude, wouldn’t it be funny if they had totally retarded pictures on the wall?

Me: Yeah, or just the worst possible shots and be like “Don’t get these pictures done”

Alex: Or maybe of velociraptors, or velociraptor faces and be like “We have a sense of humor too”

Me: Oh my god… Velociraptor Christmas cards

Alex: OH MY GOD WE HAVE TO DO THAT!

Me: AND GET THE 10X13 PICTURE OF THAT FOR US!

 

So while we were doing the pictures and the poses, our photographer was absolutely awesome.  We have a habit of making everyone laugh, but I think they’re usually laughing at us because we’re just so weird.  We did a few silly pictures, but we couldn’t stop laughing posing for the velociraptor pictures.

So the time came where we had to choose which pictures we wanted for the cards and for the portfolio prints.  When we saw the velociraptor picture, we knew we had to use those for the Christmas cards.  It was then we found out that we were only allowed one picture for the entire portfolio.

I also found out that for an additional $14, I could get 20 extra Christmas cards with any picture I wanted.

 

RAWR BITCHES!

RAWR BITCHES!

 

Our mothers didn’t know that we bought additional Christmas cards, and so we sent out the velociraptor card to everyone we knew.

I was expecting my mother to flip out on me, which is kind of what I was hoping for.  I was certain my mother in law would shrug it off and laugh.

Their reactions were actually flipped.  While my mother in law didn’t flip out, her response was “That better hell not be the real picture because I am NOT putting that on my wall for everyone to see!”  to which Alex and I couldn’t hold it in any longer and were dying from laughing so hard.

My mother is a hard woman to rattle.  She just saw it and said “I know that this isn’t the real picture.”

None the less, several friends have gotten a good kick out of it.  I’m glad they enjoyed it.

So what do YOU all think of the Velociraptors?

 

Also, I would like to thank Portrait Innovations for doing such a FANTASTIC job on our portraits.  Your staff was so courteous and if there is a portrait innovations near you, I highly recommend you.  They had great deals, they were friendly and offered the best service I have ever had from a photography session.

9 thoughts on “Merry Christmas! (From the Velociraptors)

  1. So has Rara seen this? She needs to.

    For my family, though, I think it’d be funnier if we were dressed up as the Three Bears and Goldilocks. Those characters fit us disturbingly well, except our Goldilocks is polite and well-mannered.

Leave a comment